The Aeolian Museum was created in 1954 by Bernabò Brea and Madeleine Cavalier and at the moment it has expositions in several buildings in the Lipari’s Castle. It exposes artifacts from archaeological excavations intensely leaded by two scientists in the Aeolian Archipelago from 40s onwards.
It’s a “live” Museum constantly and “centrally” related to the territory of origin (the increase and development of its collections, expositions and infrastructures are continous over the time). It is directly connected to the steady development of archeological researches.
The exposition follows scientific criterias and its creators’ didactic point of view. It is also based on illustrative criterias which make the tour interesting even for non-specialist visitors. For example, some of the most interesting expositions are the historical reconstructions with the original elements from archaeological excavations (such as the necropolis of the late Bronze Age of Piazza Monfalcone in Lipari, the prehistoric and protogreche necropolis of Milazzo, a sector of the Greek necropolis of Lipari). The exposition’s describing texts are divided in two different levels: red captions in Italian and English with the essential information for a quick but "conscious" visit and more widespread and detailed texts in black characters (the translation in English is still in progress). Visitors can everywhere consult computer stations with interactive texts and a wide range of information and insights on the archaeological and monumental emergencies of the Castle and on the exhibited complexes in the Museum.